The Republic of Zaire was the name of the present Democratic Republic of the Congo between 27 October 1971 and 17 May 1997. The name of Zaire derives from the Portuguese: Zaire itself an adaptation of the Kongo word nzere or nzadi or the river that swallows all rivers. The country was known as the Belgian Congo up until its independence in June 1960.

Alternate Name
African Barkless Dog
African Bush Dog
Ango Angari
Congo Dog
Zande Dog