Venezuela officially called the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela is a tropical country on the northern coast of South America. It borders Colombia to the west Guyana to the east and Brazil to the south. Its northern coastline of roughly 2 800 kilometres (1 700 mi) includes numerous islands in the Caribbean Sea and in the north east borders the northern Atlantic Ocean.