Malta officially known as the Republic of Malta is a Southern European country consisting of an archipelago situated in the centre of the Mediterranean 93 km south of Sicily and 288 km east of Tunisia with the Strait of Gibraltar 1 826 km to the west and Alexandria 1 510 km to the east. Malta covers just over 300 kmĀ² in land area making it one of the world's smallest and most densely populated countries. Its de facto capital is Valletta and the largest town is Birkirkara.