The Republic of Madagascar is an island country located in the Indian Ocean off the southeastern coast of Africa. The nation comprises the island of Madagascar which at 587 000 square kilometres (227 000 sq mi) is classified as the fourth-largest island in the world as well as numerous smaller peripheral islands the largest of which include Nosy Be and Nosy Boraha (Île Sainte-Marie).