Bulgaria officially the Republic of Bulgaria is a country in Southeast Europe. Bulgaria borders five other countries: Romania to the north (mostly along the Danube) Serbia and the Republic of Macedonia to the west and Greece and Turkey to the south. The Black Sea defines the extent of the country to the east. With a territory of 110 994 square kilometers (42 855 sq mi) Bulgaria ranks as the 15th-largest country in Europe.