Bhutan (-; Dzongkha: འབྲུག་ཡུལ་; Wylie: 'druk yul; Tibetan pinyin: Zhugyü; Nepali: भूटान officially the Kingdom of Bhutan is a landlocked state in South Asia located at the eastern end of the Himalayas and bordered to the south east and west by the Republic of India and to the north by the People's Republic of China. Bhutan is separated from the nearby country of Nepal to the west by the Indian state of Sikkim and from Bangladesh to the south by West Bengal.